Search

Ven. Pannavati Teaches @DSD on Oct 4th!


With our Online Practice moving to Monday evenings, Jaya had the genius idea to institute a new tradition for Deep South Dharma. On the first Monday of each month, we will host a Guest Teacher with deep connection to the southern U.S., either living here now or having ties in the past.


I am so happy that kicking off that tradition will be the Co-Founder of the Embracing Simplicity Contemplative Order, Venerable Pannavati Bhikkhuni. I still remember where I was standing when I first listened to one of her talks. Many of you may relate both to her appreciation for her Christian heritage in earlier life and the discovery that she had to go beyond that to access tools to make the spiritual life practical and skillful.


In addition to being a Spiritual Director of the ESCO, Ven. Pannavati is Co-Founder and Co-Abbot of Heartwood Refuge and Retreat Center in Hendersonville, NC. She is an international teacher and monastic ordained in the Theravada, Chan, and Mahayana traditions with Vajrayana empowerments and transmission from Roshi Bernie Glassman of Zen Peacemakers. Venerable is also a former Christian pastor who is known for her advocacy on behalf of disempowered people globally, especially women and youth. She was a 2008 recipient of the Outstanding Buddhist Women's Award and also served as Vice President of the US Chapter of the Global Buddhist Association.


Venerable Pannavati will be with us at 5pm PT/6pm MT/7pm CT/8pm ET on Monday, October 4, 2021. Pick up the usual Zoom link at deepsouthdharma.org to join us!

Recent Posts

See All

A Valentine's Gift for You

I revisit this little book frequently for its inspiration and wisdom. It's especially nourishing to read it at this time of year! You can freely download it onto your Kindle or other device. If you fe